It’s the small victories that count

In my 23+ years of teaching, this year ranks high in the “most challenging” category. I have found myself completely frustrated numerous occasions, rethinking my career choice and mapping my possible path out of the classroom. Because I have four different preps and teaching all levels of classes, I have convinced myself that I am a complete failure.

This past week, however, was an eye-opener! I had an epiphany!! As I continued my struggle, there were a few essays that were we’re better than normal, a few test grades that were passing,and a few responses during our Socratic circle that just blew me away! As Friday approached,I realized, that these small victories are what gives us “fuel” and the reason why we, as educators, do what we do. I struggle with “success with every student”, but in this battle, I will take the small victories!

How about it fellow teachers….am I alone in this war? I’d love some feedback.

Leave a Reply

